Our founders

Grameen Trust

Created in 1989, the Grameen Trust has replicated the Grameen Bank model around the world. Founded in 1983, the Grameen Bank (“the bank of the villages”) established the standard for microfinance in Bangladesh and was awarded, together with Professor Yunus, the Nobel Peace Prize in 2006. In addition to the Grameen Bank, Professor Yunus has developed a comprehensive Grameen family of social business companies that aim to provide the poorest with access to technology, energy, education and health care.

Crédit Agricole S.A.

Crédit Agricole was born in France in the late 19th century on the initiative of farmers eager to escape the clutches of moneylenders and landowners and to have access to adequate financing for their crops and equipment by gathering together in local mutual agricultural credit companies. Benefiting from its mutual and cooperative foundations, Crédit Agricole is today a responsible and helpful bank, serving over 50 million customers worldwide.